top of page

The One with the Sheep

Updated: Feb 10, 2019

The Leader of the Shenanigans

One of the main things I have noticed with my time in Spain is, the amount of sheep there is. It is almost as if everywhere you walk you can hear the bells ringing around their necks. Last Wednesday, our group explored North Extremadura, Spain. In which, we visited the abandoned town of Granadilla, the streets of Hervás and the Roman baths in the town of Baños Montemayor.

 Now back to the sheep. These animals were everywhere. In honor of Halloween, I could not tell if I was enjoying there presence or if I felt that I was being haunted. During our guided tour in Granadilla, I could hear their bells the entirety of the day. The town was very small and had maze like street structure. With a series of events, something of a game between myself and the sheep developed that was all the more interesting, or should I say terrifying. As I would be trying to pay attention to all the interesting facts about the town, I would hear a ring from around the corner. I then would proceed to look around the corner but then nothing would be there. I would return to the group only to hear a baahh from around the corner again. I would then, again, look around the corner and see nothing. The sheep kept me on my toes the rest of the tour in Granadilla. As we were leaving, as you can see in the video, the sheep finally revealed themselves. They were just making there normal sheep sounds but I know that they were laughing at me. Until next time, sheep of North Extremadura.

The trip also revealed to me the importance of being teachable. Unlike a sheep, I have individual tendencies and frequently have the urge to venture out of a group. At times this can be a good personal trait, and at times this can be very unhelpful in any kind of setting. Like sheep, after spending a whole day following a leader, I was reminded of the importance of submitting to authority. To me, this includes taking a step back, relaxing, listening, trusting,  processing and essentially being teachable.


Added Text

Happy Halloween week. If you are in Spain, watch out for the sheep


bottom of page