top of page

Operation Find Javi

Updated: Feb 10, 2019

I have to credit my host family with much of the experience I have had abroad. Whether is is treating us to a weekend getaway full of awesome food or making sandwich snacks for me everyday. It truly has been a great experience because of them.

  The great Javier es un caballero de España. He took care of Joel, my roommate, and I for the first week. With our host mother and the fearless Juan Carlos, the boyfriend of our host mother, we set off towards small town Portugal in search for the young lad. Along the way we crossed a 1st century Roman bridge, which is becoming quite normal, and through the vast hills of Western Spain. After about two hours of driving, Joel and I had dozed off and were woken by yelling. Juan Carlos wanted to make sure we did not miss the Roman bridge, very nice of the sir. We arrived in the evening and in a heavy mist. We stayed in the living room of Javier's apartment and relaxed friday night, meeting his roommates from North Spain and Holland. Saturday we saw a castille at the top of the hill, which the city is based around.

A little bit about me. My favorite part about these trips is that we all pack into a small four-door, which I end up laughing every car ride. Juan Carlos is the driver and does not have the best navigation skills, so car rides genuinely end up in a Spanish uproar about where we are.

A little bit about me. Saturday night was filled with conversation about languages and laughing about slang and how bad we are at each others languages. I have no knowledge about Dutch and Javier has little knowledge about English and Dutch, and the two Holland folk had no idea how to speak Spanish and the Northern Spaniard knew English pretty well. The mix prospered quite a bit of enjoyment and laughter.

A little bit about me. I sometimes gain an urge or an energy and just need to let it out. Sometimes I do this through playing heavy metal on the drums, yelling, run, boxing, piano or backflip attempts. This time around I tried a backflip next to a café while on a rainy town walk with our host family. I did not make it.

A little bit about me. You have to define originality before you begin to think creatively. What does it mean to be yourself and knowing where yourself comes from. Thinking innovatively while being secure in knowing what you are coming from. For instance, the video was not there on this trip so I did not make one because there was not one to be made.

Castille View
Roof Top View


Walking Around.
Javier, Joel and I


White Castille (Castelo Branco)


A Garden in Castelo

Stonghold Crusader PC
Kings of Portugal

bottom of page